[CONCEPT] HEIMA for Homey (Wall Mounted Dashboard)

First I would like start with a disclaimer. I am NOT a developer, nor a UI/UX designer. I do have some experience in both, but this project is really just to get to learn some React and the Homey Web API.

Now, let me introduce HEIMA for Homey:

• The UI is heavily inspired by Dmitrij Paškevič’s HEIMA concept (Behance)
  • This will probably not be the ideal dashboard for most of the geeks on this forum. My idea is to create a ‘no hassle, no config’ interface to Homey that can be wall mounted (using a tablet device). So it won’t be a customizable drag & drop widget dashboard. It is simply an interface to homey (like their app) that can/will be hosted.
  • The dashboard assumes you have at least a thermostat, some lights, some sensors and some favorite flows.
  • All configuration is done inside the homey app. The dashboard simply takes the first thermostat, looks for light devices (in class or virtual class), will fetch the favorite flows of the main user (owner) and will display all sensor statuses.

I’m creating this in React and using Athom’s Web API. It’s a bit of a struggle, but here are two screenshots of where I’m at right now:

Dashboard

• The dashboard shows the indoor temperature and the outdoor weather (fetched from Dark Sky using Homey’s lat/long). It also shows all users and their presence status.
  • The sticky top bar shows current date/time and has a button to ‘log out’ (the on/off button)

Lighting

• The lighting page shows Homey’s zones on the left. The upper zone is the root zone (in my case I named it ‘All zones’ in my Homey app). On the right you see all devices fetched from the Web API filtered by the device class or virtual class. As you will see in the video my Homey has more zones then listed, but zones without a light device are not rendered.