Connecting to the Homey API?

Hi All,

I see some great alternatives here with HomeyDash and some other alternatives, but I want to be able to fully customize and maintain the dashboard (reinvent the wheel). I’m a web and windows developer myself, with some knowledge of Unity as well and that one lets me deploy to Android and a lot of other platforms.

So I’m actually thinking about creating a whole new dashboard build upon the Unity engine and made cross platform with that so I could publish it to any kind of tablet.

This would allow me to create all kind of neat looking controls, but my main issue is the communication to Homey. There seems to be a web API (https://api.developer.homey.app/) but it is not open to the public.

HomeyDash seems to be using Homey Ink credentials and methods, but that would add another layer of dependency. It must be possible to talk directly to the Homey API?

I thought about having the dashboard app fill a queue of Homey commands and run a HomeyScript within Homey processing the queue, but that is also causing performance and overhead.

I’m requesting the web API key, but it seems only for companies. Anyone ever tried something similar already? Do they change that API a lot after every release? If it’s not a stable API I’m rethinking putting a lot of time and effort into this :slight_smile:

Homeydash’s dependancy on homey.ink is for authentication only, once there’s a token it no longer uses homey.ink.
Whatever you’ll build will have to authenticate against Athoms infrastructure, might as well piggyback on something existing (as you will not be getting an API key). Never looked into it but maybe can do it transparant to the user.

The Web API is very stable and hasn’t really changed a lot over the years. However, Athom just doesn’t seem to be interested in making it available to the public.