Hass or Homey?

Anyone here that switched from Hass to Homey or the other way around? And why? Currently running Hass but Homey seems a very complete package with all the receivers in there. https://100001.onl/
https://1921681254.mx/

Any thoughts?

Welcome to the community @viniebenet3

You will find people who have switched (to and from) here.

Personally every time I have another attempted at HASS. I gain a better appreciation for the ecosystem and skill of the community developers here.

Flows, Community developers and ease/speed of setup will all blow you mind.

1 Like

I tried Hass before moving to Homey and Homey wins hands down for ease of use for most things. Having all the radios available is a big bonus but they can be added to a RaspberryPi to work with Hass. Some might even argue they work better on a Pi but I have no experience with that. Personally I have very few problems with ZWave and WiFi on Homey and only use Zigbee through the Hue hub connected to Homey.
I haven’t looked at Hass for over 2 years now so maybe that has also improved.
At the end of the day it is personal preference and skills that will be the deciding factor.

1 Like

In theory, you’re absolutely right. But in practice, Homey suffers from issues that make life with it difficult for some people. I’ve been using HA for almost a year now and it’s super stable for me. It’s also more open (in terms of development), it supports more of my devices, and I can run it on the hardware of my liking (a Synology NAS).

The “all-in-one” solution is great if it works for you, but if it doesn’t, you’re pretty much stuck to either living with the consequences (like the lack of support for a lot of Zigbee devices) or you have to buy additional hardware (like people buying IR transceivers or third-party Zigbee hubs because Homey doesn’t work properly).