How to start with first app

I have been struggling with this for a while now. I want to create a new app for homey. Never really had the time, but now since I have a break from my work for 3 months i’m looking for something to do.

Previously I got the advise to start with just creating an app and start adding stuff. I tried that, and got an app. Created some flow cards, created a nice little page for settings but in all honesty I just don’t know what i’m doing (except for some HTML coding where I rely on my skills from when I did that for a living… which is like 15 years ago).

So I lack a total experience of coding. So I decided it would be good to start with a course. I started with the course at the codingacademy. I now have some basic knowledge of what things do and are, but putting that together where you actually create something needs experience.

I want to create a app for my APC UPS based on SNMP. Now I found net-snmp which seems to be needed. I get how SNMP works, so that’s great and all. But what’s the next step.

Could someone point me into the right direction, because i’m not seeing the forest in between of all the trees. :wink:

Maybe a ‘better’ course is recommended, or some books? Any thoughts in that?

Don’t start with an app at all, start with trying to get the basics running locally on your {lap,desk}top using the same version of Node.js that Homey runs (v12, the specific version probably doesn’t matter much). Once you have that up and running, try incorporating the code into an actual app.

I pretty much work the same, because app development for Homey is (still) a PITA: change code, upload to Homey, wait, find out that you made a tiny mistake, change code, upload to Homey, etc, etc.

So create a script using the SNMP module that will read the values from your UPS. Ideally, try and see if the UPS supports autodiscovery in some way, and incorporate that as well (because it will come handy in the next part).